Reading Wrap-up For August at Moonshine and Rosefire

Hello everyone out there and I hope that you all had a terrific reading month for yourselves. I am known as Rosefire around the Internet and this is my new personal reading blog. I originally posted my reviews over at my daughter’s blog, Emeraldfire’s Bookmark but am now in the process of transferring them all over to my own blog. My daughter makes blogging look like so much fun that I thought that I would try it out for myself! πŸ™‚

Anyway, I started out August with 734 unread books lying around the house and ended the month with 723 books unread. All the books that I acquired this month came from Amazon, Feed Books, Bookmooch, Netgalley, Mareena also lent me a book of hers, and an author sent me his book to review. Mareena and I also went to a Library Book Sale on the 22nd to celebrate my birthday.

Let me try to break down the influx for you:

Changes to the TBR pile

Read from my TBR pile (Yes! I am a reading machine :))
Bloodroot by Amy Greene 
Mindbend by Robin Cook
– A Ship Made of Paper: A Novel by Scott Spencer
The Red Scream: A Novel of Suspense by Mary Willis Walker 
Deviltry Afoot by Carol Pritt 
A Patchwork Planet: A Novel by Anne Tyler
– Brood X: A Firsthand Account of the Great Cicada Invasion by Michael Phillip Cash
The Sky is Falling: A Novel by Sidney Sheldon
Sweetwater Creek by Anne Rivers Siddons
Exceptional Acrostics to Keep You Sharp by Charles Preston
From a Buick 8: A Novel by Stephen King

Added to my TBR pile (oh well, you win some and you lose some! Not too bad though, I suppose:))
The Right Wrong Number: A Short Story by Barbara Delinsky
Every Word: Crossings by Amazon Digital Services
The Turn of the Screw by Henry James
– The Grey Woman and Other Tales by Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell
The Thing From the Lake by Eleanor M. Ingram
The Thames Valley Catastrophe by Grant Allen
Ice Trap: A Novel of Psychological Suspense by Kitty Sewell
Horn Pattern by Gretta Hines
The 228 Legacy by Jennifer J. Chow
Pray For us Sinners by Peter S. Fischer
The Paradise Trees by Linda Huber
Poor Little Dead Girls by Lizzie Friend
The Back Road by Rachel Abbott
Preservation Hall by Scott Spencer
The Rich Man’s Table by Scott Spencer
– The Back Road by Rachel Abbott
The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler
– Bound by Blood and Brimstone
by D. L. Dunaway
– Two Sides of a Heartbeat
by DeLaine Roberts
– All the Numbers: A Novel by Judy Merrill Larsen
Black Cross by Greg Isles
– Brooklyn: A Novel by Colm Toibin
– Distant Echoes by Colleen Coble
– Don’t Tell by Karen Rose
– Friend of the Devil by Peter Robinson
The Geometry of Sisters by Luanne Rice
The Hiding Place by David Bell
House of Sand and Fog by Andre Dubus III
In the Kitchen: A Novel by Monica Ali
The Loop by Nicholas Evans
Moonlight Mile by Dennis Lehane
A New Song by Jan Karon
One Simple Act: Discovering the Power of Generosity by Debbie Macomber
Rescue: A Novel by Anita Shreve
Sandcastles by Luanne Rice
The Sea by John Banville
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The Summer I Dared by Barbara Delinsky
The Way we Were: A Novel by Marcia Willett
The Winter of Our Discontent by John Steinbeck
Willing by Scott Spencer

Taken off my TBR pile and sent to a new home (Yay! Happy Dance! :))
Shock Talk: The Exorcist Files by Bob Larson
Bloodprint: A Novel of Psychological Suspense by Kitty Sewell
Nightshade by John Saul
Mindbend by Robin Cook
Kitchen Candlecrafting by Ruth Monroe
Bloodroot by Amy Greene
Coroner at Large by Thomas T. Noguchi, M. D. and Joseph DiMona
North From Rome by Helen MacInnes
– Island Murders by Wanda Canada
Mystery of Hunting’s End by Mignon G. Eberhart
Brood X: A Firsthand Account of the Great Cicada Invasion by Michael Phillip Cash
The Eighth Day by Brooke Leimas
Exceptional Acrostics to Keep You Sharp by Charles Preston

Well, there it is…the breakdown! All in all, a very good reading month for me. Here’s a further breakdown:

Books Read: 11
Pages Read: 3,265
Grade Range: A+! to B+!

So, there you go! The reading month that was August. I hope that you all had an equally good reading month; if not a little better. πŸ™‚ See you all next month! πŸ™‚

Till we Meet Again, Glow Brightly as Moonlight

Leave a Reply

